Allentown Public Library ...

This morning I found myself at the Allentown Public Library .....

And then I found myself at the Charles Dickens book collection.  Which was the perfect place to be for the Charles Dickens challenge.

I know I used this quote yesterday, but today's picture is better suited to it: 

“There are a good many books, are there not, my boy?” said Mr. Brownlow, observing the curiosity with which Oliver surveyed the shelves that reached from the floor to the ceiling.
“A great number, sir,” replied Oliver; “I never saw so many.”
“You shall read them if you behave well,” said the old gentleman kindly; “and you will like that, better than looking at the outsides, - that is, in some cases, because there are books of which the backs and covers are by far the best parts.”

Speaking of libraries .... I read in our paper recently that the Bethlehem Township "leaders" are thinking about severing ties to the Bethlehem Public Library.  We live in the township and I use (and love) the library quite often.  Our township currently has a contract with the library so that township citizens can use it.  One of our commissioners is quoted as saying, "On the whole, libraries are going the way of the dodo bird. Everyone goes to the Internet. You'd be hard-pressed to find a student not going online."  Now how ignorant is that!?! He's right about the students going online, but I disagree with his other statements.  And there have been many letters to the editor in support of keeping our ties to the library.  According to the Bethlehem Library executive director about 40% of township residents are current card holders.  One of those 40% is me!!!  And I would like to keep it that way!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.