A KESTREL ON A DECAYED SUNFLOWER

We greeted the sun in the morning, and the blue sky.
After two sombre days we felt so lucky with the prospect of a walk in the afternoon. Thus in the morning we read, followed the news, fed the birds, not in that particularly order.
Right after lunch we drove to Helmarshausen, to the end of the little town, where we walked along the Hainbach, climbing slowly amids green pastures. At one point we disturbed a deer that had sought refuge in the bushes. On our return way we followed a path at the other side of the brook and there we saw the bird, bidding in the air. And suddenly falling quickly at the ground.
It seemed to us that the bird had not caught what she/he had aimed for, then she sat quietly on a decayed sunflower.
I walked slowly nearer and only when I came close she flew high in the air. There she watched us and at some point I found it rather disturbing.
The she vanished.
An extra photo to show the bird in flight.
I looked in my guide book for identification and decided it had to be a kestrel. Perhaps the bird that I had named on another walk, some time ago, a buzzard, really was a kestrel too.
While we walked I noticed that I somehow, despite the lovely weather, had a feeling of tiredness. That sometimes happens when the sun suddenly shined sharp and bright. One would like to dance and jump in the air, but somehow the strength to do that is absent.
We had to go to the supermarket after our walk, and when we came at last home and drank our tea, we both fell asleep on the couch.
Happy but a bit exhausted.

My haiku:

Step by step, with care,
Don't want to disturb the bird
On the dead flower

And the proverb:

Far behind must follow the faster.

1721  Kelly  107.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.