Through the Mizzle

I had to say goodbye to Son #3 today after a lovely week of having him at home. Not until after we'd sat down to a lovely cooked breakfast together, though - late morning - at the table - complete with orange juice and filter coffee. That doesn't happen very often, so a rare treat! :)

Today has been dull, dreary and drizzly weatherwise, so I pondered upon whether to brave the outdoors or blip another macro. It would probably have been of the same carnation as yesterday - super close up - so I thought maybe not, although I've enjoyed delving into its folds and adjusting the light to reveal its hidden beauty.

So....I headed out in the car to Kingston Lacy, equipped with tripod and waterproof clothing for both myself and my camera, with the intent of wandering through the wooded area, having been inspired by a talk at camera club about how beautiful woodland can look in the rain. It was not to be! I arrived at the gates to see a notice telling me it was closed because of the weather....hmmm.....

Instead, I drove through some of the country lanes, stopping really very often because something had caught my eye. The lanes were so quiet, that I didn't even always bother to pull over but just stopped and leapt out for a minute or two! :) My blip was taken early on in my wanderings. It's a crop from a larger image and quite a high ISO and it was raining, so..... well, it is what it is! I had to stand on tip toe to see over a brambly hedge, so there was lots of peripheral gubbins that I didn't want, and the odd raindrop to deal with, even though I kept wiping the lens - hence the need to crop the image. It was looking a lot more lemony last April! :)

Looks best against the dark background.

I have to say, I was surprised that I so often liked what I saw through the mizzle - weather conditions that can tend to mean that I forget to look! I love the variety in the English seasons! :))

I hope you're all having a good weekend! Thank you so much for all your lovely comments, stars and hearts recently and I'm sorry my commenting has been a bit limited. Hopefully, I'll call in on your journal before too long!

Ann

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.