Repairs

A few days ago, I mentioned that our chain along the front boundary had been cut, attempts had been made to pull out some of the posts and our gates to our drive had been forced.  Normally, I would do permanent repairs immediately but my health and the weather were such that only temporary repairs occurred a day or so after it was done.  The first decent weather we have had, although still chilly and windy, was today.  So, out with the welding gear and the various tools, to repair five breaks in the chain, replace one of the U brackets, supporting the chain, on a post and repair another U bracket.  Today’s blip is a picture of the entire front boundary to our house which almost fills today’s picture.  The chain that had been damaged, together with the fence posts, were those nearest to the camera, from the nearest post, up to the entrance to the drive.  The work, which should have taken about three quarters of an hour under normal circumstances, took between three and four times that, I found it very hard to weld, and fit new chain links etc., when I have almost no feeling in my left hand and very little grip; I kept dropping things.  Nevertheless, although it is not a particularly pretty job, I would sack most welders if they worked for me and presented work of that standard, it is mechanically sound and should last a little while, assuming it is not again vandalised.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.