Choo choo

Afternoon tea on the British Pullman in 'Ibis', one of the carriages from the Orient Express rolling stock. Diana has always dreamed of travelling onboard one of these trains and the children made her wish come true last year/this year when they gifted her afternoon tea on this marvelous train. 

We arrived in London just before noon and had a decent tapas lunch at LaTasca in Victoria. The idea of tapas was that it wouldn't fill us up - wrong. We ordered 3 dishes each and they were pretty substantial. Could that have been a mistake?

Strolled down by the river for a while after lunch before heading back to Victoria to board the train., We were entertained on the platform by 'The Spitfires', 2 girls dressed in period costume and singing songs from the 1920s. Once on board we were shown to our seats which were basically just big comfy armchairs set either side of a small table laid out with finest bone china. Sparkling wine was served followed very shortly by the first of our 100 cups of tea, or so it seemed. I'm sure I was sloshing around with the movement of the train towards the end. Sandwiches were a little boring but that always seems to be the way with these things. Period costume - period sandwiches. Scones with clotted cream and jam followed and just when I thought I couldn't possibly eat another thing we were served cakes. I manned up and ate them all but boy was I full.

Pointless gifts were purchased, a teddy dressed as a steward for Diana and a guards whistle for me - that will get added to my eclectic collection of tat that I am bequeathing to my children.

All in all, a wonderful day and I'm hinting at how much I would enjoy dinner on the Orient Express for my 60th birthday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.