More baking

I was going to go to the beach, I even checked the times of the tides, but it was cold and very windy so I wimped out and did some more baking.  This week's effort was Tomato Soup Cupcakes, the recipe was in a book I was given as a Christmas present.  I thought this could go either way, they might be brilliant or just awful.  I am pleased to say they tasted good, a bit like a smooth carrot cake, although I set the oven temperature too high and nearly burnt them.  This explains the Campbell's soup tin in the photograph.  Andy Warhol made numerous pictures of Campbell's soup tins and one possible reason for this, apparently, was that he really liked the stuff and ate it every day for years.  He was fascinated by popular culture and Campbell's soup was massively popular in America at the time, so it became a subject for his screenprints.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.