Kung Hey Fat Choy

I made a list this morning, I thought it would motivate me. I wasn't too lazy as I have done a few things on it, so I don't feel too bad. 

One of the things was to go into town and see the dragon dance for Chinese New Year. It wasn't as much fun as it would have been with a friend, I was Billy No Mates today, but it was okay. It was blowing a hooley and freezing cold...but the sun was shining. I joined the hundreds and hundreds of others that lined the streets and waited for the dragon to appear. 

There was dancing in Albert Square, but I couldn't squeeze through the throngs. I jigged about on my chilly toes and when the fire crackers exploded I knew the parade was coming. I fiddled around with a few settings on my horrible camera (I will keep moaning about it until I get something better!) and I hoped for the best. Last year there were two dragons, but there was only one today. I do find it funny that most of the dragon handlers aren't Chinese.

It was loud, it was colourful, it writhed and wriggled about in front of me and then it moved on. It was an effort to fight the crowd who followed the dragon, but I'd had enough, I was cold and I'd only paid for two hours on the car park so I headed off.

I went round to see Sian for a cuppa and a chat (and a sneaky cake) and then I went round to see Jude for a cuppa and a chat (and a sneaky biscuit). 

So...Kung Hey Fat Choy, I hope the year of the monkey is good for you. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.