M43

By Froggy

In-camera 'toning'!

Serendipity; I stumbled across a poorly-documented feature of my Lumix G3 when messing with the controls; in Photo Style modes you can adjust the contrast, sharpness, saturation & noise reduction to tune your out-of-camera jpegs, as I talked about here;
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/1714562

In monochrome mode I never bothered testing saturation --well, why would you? But it turns out it gives cool or warm toning to the image, as this composite of the same subject shows. Personally I think the cool one works well with this metallic subject, whereas the warmer tone works better in the extra photos.
If you think the toning seen here is too extreme, two points;
1/ these are the Saturation +2, saturation -2 and saturation 0 settings. Settings -1 and +1 are more muted
2/ in PP you could always use a duplicate layer set to  neutral B&W and use a blend mode to mix the two to your taste

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.