So many wells, so little time ....

Heading out to Norwich to visit mum I had decided I would take the seasonal opportunity to visit  the snowdrops at Walsingham and, of course, to visit the most obvious well of all. It is hard to believe it was one of the foremost shrines in Christendom.
Today, it was really dreary weather though so I just had a walk round the village which has always given me the heebie jeebies (see extra ... it reminds me of Banksy and Exit through the Gift Shop).
I remember cycling out to Walsingham out of curiosity when I was a teenager when there was some famous gathering of Anglican and Catholic leaders, the roads were jammed for miles around. There's no two ways about it, it is just very weird. It should be a lovely village but it is just very odd and strangely lifeless I always feel.

So my main photo is of St.Waltson's Well at Bawburgh. I would never have know about it had it not been for the holy well challenge and yet I have driven round, past, near and within a sneeze of it countless times. The church of St.Mary and St.Walston is one of the lovely flint round towered church's of Norfolk. St.Walston sounds like a thoroughly nice chap and became patron saint of farmers, farmhands and all things farmyard.
More info here.

I read The Little Prince to mum again. I don't think she quite knew who I was. I asked her how she was and she looked around, a little uncertain, and said 'I feel displaced', she couldn't explain why and couldn't say where she might rather be, there didn't seem to be any sense of home, or where home might be. I said that I did too but she won't remember.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.