Visitors in the Apple Orchard....

Dear Diary,

I leave the apple falls each year for the deer to eat.  When they finish with them or when the snow gets too deep to dig, they delicately "prune" the trees.  I can see their tracks going from tree to tree.  I have to go to the feed store today ahead of our next snow storm that begins this afternoon and get some grain for them.

David, my wonderful helper, will be coming in a couple of weeks to give the trees a proper pruning.  They have been sadly neglected I'm afraid.  But my decent apple harvest this past fall has given me hope so I will see what can be done with them.  It seems that we will be getting a series of small storms this week so February  will make up for the scant snowfall of December and January.  Tree pruning has to be done in February when the trees are still dormant so David will have to trudge through the snow with his step ladder.

My friend Dotty is now in rehab and will work at getting stronger so she can come home in a few weeks.  She will be 95 years old this Saturday.  In between storms I will try to get over to see her.  Thank you all for your kind well wishes for this amazing lady.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.