High Seas

The 70-80mph gusts of last night have abated to under 60mph now. We’re perched up above the town and we had a restless night feeling the house shake and listening to things blowing about outside. There’s a big heavy stormproof fence designed to let the wind through. The wind brought it down this morning. We had a warning from someone working next door who advised me to move the van. I did that and when I came back from the gym, it was down.
 
   
The sea looked stupendous from up here so we went down to the town to see what it looked like from there. It's very hard to show scale with these big waves unless they're in context with houses, people or such things. The wind was blowing strongy offshore so the tops of the waves looked very dramatic with the spray blowing back. If you remember the Guinness ad with the horses as waves, you'll get the idea. We had lunch in the Pasta Caffe on the front which looks out on Harbour Beach so we could continue watching from the window.


As I look down now the light has gone and it is just about high tide, I reckon, I can see rollers crashing against the sea front inside the harbour. I think some of the businesses along the front are likely to get water in. I hope they've all got sand bags. Most of the cars seem to have been taken off Smeaton's Pier as the water is crashing over it. We can see Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and we could see waves and spray as high as the top of the light. Dramatic sights! Ive put a couple of extras in and there are more here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.