Porcelain Dog

This dog stood on the windowsill of my Grandmother's house for as long as I can remember.  Also on the windowsill (behind the curtain) was a crock full of hard candy - peppermints with chocolate inside, or a dark sugar candy.  These are things that live in my memory.

My mother called today and said that my Grandmother, my mormor, was not doing so good.  She hasn't been doing so good for a few years, but she took a turn this weekend.  

This isn't unexpected.  It is not even unwelcome.  But it is very very sad, and I cried for a while when I heard - even though I was at my desk at work.  

So today I am thinking of my mormor - I am thinking of her laugh, her poise, her giving nature and her sense of humor.  She is a lovely wonderful person who loved me.  And I love her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.