Life is like a river

By Gunnlaug

My front door

When I went out for my daily walk in the afternoon, my husband had started his work in the kitchen making "saltkjöt og baunir" for the traditional Icelandic dinner on Shrove Tuesday.  In Iceland the day is known as Sprengidagur (Bursting Day) and is marked by eating salted meat and peas (split pea-soup).  
Although he was very busy, Daníel came to the front door to say good-bye and make today's subject a bit more interesting.  My front door is more inviting and decorative during Christmas, especially after a big snowstorm ;)  If Spring and Summer ever returns to Iceland, our next project will be to replace the handrail (my father, the carpenter, said he will be making the new one) and then paint all the white bits and maybe get a plant or some decorative item at the top of the steps.

Back to the Sprengidagur dinner:  It was very tasty and also very salty.  I think I'd better go now and get myself another pint of water ... or three!
 
--------
During February I've decided to use this list of ideas in the hope I get back my "photo-mojo" and start posting daily again.


1. Your view today
2. Words
3. Hands
4. A stranger
5. 10 AM
6. Dinner
7. Button
8. Sun
9. Front door
10. Self portrait
11. Makes you happy
12. Inside your closet
13. Blue
14. Heart
15. Phone
16. Something new
17. Time
18. Drink
19. Something you hate to do
20. Handwriting
21. A fave photo of you
22. Where you work
23. Your shoes
24. Inside your bathroom cabinet
25. Green
26. Night
27. Something you ate
28. Money
29. Something you're listening to

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.