Babybichon

By Babybichon

One day at a time...

Motherhood - conjures up thoughts of nurturing, discipline, caring, loving, stable, reliable, fun loving...well you get the drift.

It's a lot to live up to, I think mother's put pressure on themselves to attain all that Motherhood involves. I'm not a perfectionist in this department, I'll be the first to admit I struggle at times, my seven year old has an answer for everything, we clash frequently and I feel loss of control over what he should and should not do (I have a little bit of a pedantic nature) and thus are the problems that arises.

Having a newborn in the fold is another out of control situation that I'm faced with - I'm baby-led at the moment, if he decides to cry the house down in the supermarket he's going to do that on his own accord (of course until I pick him up and cuddle him), goes to sleep when he wants to, wants feeding NOW, not in five minutes but Right. This. Minute (and will scream bloody murder until you get the bottle) - well you get the picture (no pun intended).

I think it's a culmination of areas that we mother's struggle with (between bouts of pulling our hair out, venting (loudly) and laughing out loud as otherwise you'll start crying): we worry, we care, we stretch ourselves too thinly...but we can juggle, be organised, be there to give them unconditional love, just be there for them when they need you. And a host of other limitless things we can do.

As I said I'm not perfect and I don't strive to be, but I know I'm trying my hardest to be a 'good' mother, and I hope that my children will one day appreciate my attitudes to parenting in years to come.

Otherwise they'll be screwed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.