Childhood Memories

When I was aged 6-12 we lived in a terraced town house in Beckenham, with a row of garages opposite and some communal garden at the end. Each house also had a very small private garden too (I had my own tiny 1m sq patch within in it and earned my Gardener's Badge for Brownies by growing carrots and nasturtiums), but of course as kids we used to like to play out together in the shared bit. We built a massive den once from clothes horses, camping tables and blankets and 7 of us slept out in it, the oldest being 16. I wonder how many parents would let their kids do that these days, but it became a lasting happy memory for me. 

Our favourite place to hang out was inside a big old Oak, like the one I'm blipping which I came across in Panshanger Park. We could climb up the inside and into the branches above which we used as a lookout. Today's was also hollow which made me think of the 'one behind the garages'. I was playing with ISO today which proved a good lesson learned, but in fact the best shot of the hollow part was the extra and nothing to do with me changing the ISO; it just happened that he sun came out and illuminated it! However, the main blip is the one I like best. Neither shot is edited at all because I wanted to demonstrate the contrast.

Tonight I'm returning to Scouts for the first time in 4 months. They're cooking pancakes. Yum! I may report back later.

Edit: the Scouts were great fun and it was a rewarding evening. I taught one lad how to hold a match level so he didn't burn himself - shocking he didn't already know - but I'm focusing on the fact that he learned something! He also cooked good pancakes :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.