My Heroines

The Two Jays.

J and I managed to grab two days away, sandwiched between two crises with her dad it turned out. In our regular cottage in Northumberland. Brief respite.

I scooped up and packed the latest book of Jane Bown's work J had bought me for some downtime reading. Phenomenal ethos and images.

I was amused to see this particular one she'd taken of Henri Cartier-Bresson included in a recent interview with Steve McCurry in the Observer. Not credited to her though.

He listed HC-B as one of his inspirations - "I used to go to his flat in Paris". That's as may be, but he would have been six when Jane Bown took this image in 1957.

She would have taken this with her Rolleiflex, later progressing to using a Pentax... (Oh alright, and then an Olympus OM-1).

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.