Edinburgh by Night

As I was through in Edinburgh yesterday afternoon I had intended to take some shots of Princes Street and the Gardens from the Castle Esplanade.
Problem one was parking, I had to park at the bottom of the hill and walk all the way up Castle Terrace with my gear. I chucked out a few necessary items to lighten my photo pack and slowly crawled up the hill. I don't do hills easily nowadays. When I got up there I found to my chagrin that there weren't any decent shots of Princes Street from the Esplanade because there are trees obstructing the view. I then remembered that one of my favourite spots for shooting an overview of Edinburgh Centre is up at the One O'Clock Gun which unfortunately is inside the castle and by this time it was shut. 

I looked around for other possibilities and took a reasonable night time shot of the castle which  have never done previously (see extra photo) but because of the mix of coloured lighting  my favourite was a shot looking down the top end of the Royal Mile from the esplanade.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.