Automatic White Balance - an experiment

After yesterday I thought I would strike while the iron’s hot as they say and just see what difference manually setting the white balance would do.  I just took a shot (well two to be safe) at each of the built in fixed white balance settings, including flash and one on auto.  Same scene as yesterday – all shots as are from ‘camera raw’ files and just reduced in size as jpg with the setting printed on.
 
I have blipped the Daylight shot (5200k) and the Auto shot (which came out at 5850) on Blip, but recommend looking at the full set   here on Flickr.
 
Conclusion – my ND filter has a suspicious ND.

ps - Isn't it annoying when after uploading nine photographs (two on blip, seven on Flickr) you notice a dust spot!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.