Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Monotone Titmouse

This week's assignment from Emma Davies' A Year With My Camera workshop came out - black and white. My nemesis.  I am definitely someone who sees the world in color and, although I love a well executed mono image, I'm hard pressed to produce one myself.  So perhaps this will be considered a "cheat" shot - after all, the bird is basically gray and white with just the tiniest splash of color under it's wings, and winter always produces a somewhat monotone appearance...but I want to start with something easy.  Unprocessed version in Extra.

So, here you have what is probably our most common yard bird, the Tufted Titmouse.  A universal favorite with its perky attitude, inquisitive nature and cute button-eyes.  Also a bird that I can count on seeing just about every day.  

I also posted a monotone sparrow, here on Flickr

It's bitingly cold today ... 21 F ( - 6 C) with a strong wind, making it feel like 8 F ( - 13 C).  I'm afraid its just too cold and windy for a walk today.  Besides, we are expecting a long-time friend of Hubs to stop in on his way from Ohio to NY this afternoon.  He'll be staying over so we can all enjoy dinner and some catching up.  Fire is cranking and we have a pork roast and some root veggies ready to cook.  

Thank you for all the love on Mrs Cardinal yesterday.  She was back today, with a couple of her less colorful kind.  I do wonder why her colors are so much more vivid than the other lady cardinals.  

By the way, I am loving the Lightroom book that I recently purchased, by Scott Kelby.  I am learning SO much about editing!

TTFN, people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.