Louise - Changing Natures

By louisemac

OMG. OBE.

An amazing day at my investiture at Buckingham Palace today. Hard to find the words for what is quite an overwhelming, humbling and at times surreal experience.

The sun shone. The sky was blue. The Palace was as jaw droppingly gorgeous as you would expect. The Household Cavalry guards were like living statues and the Royal Household staff were simply off the scale lovely, thoughtful and genuinely charming at every turn. We were reminded that "No initiative was required" - and just as well. It went past in a blur. HRH The Duke of Rothesay (Charlie) was warm and chatty, didn't miss when he pinned on the medal and I managed to walk backwards and curtsy (twice) in sky high heels without falling over.

But most impressive of all were the incredible people from across the UK being recognised for their service to communities. It was inspiring and humbling in equal measure to meet them and share in the day.

My OBE was for services to young people in Scotland and they were carried with me on the day via my fascinator! It features the unique Who Cares Scotland tartan - designed by care-experienced and looked-after young people as their own "family clan tartan". It means so much that they allowed me to use it to adapt the fascinator (thanks to the fabulous Jamie and also the team at Slanj) and added to the symbolic power of the day.

Lots more I could say, but enough. Final mention to my beloved OH Derek, whose unswerving love and support given so generously and with such love and understanding of what drives me, means I'm able to serve young people the way I do x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.