The Wreck of the Santa Leonor

Still cruising the Chilean fjords.  The weather has been utterly miserable all day -- raining, gray, low-hanging clouds, and chilly -- all hampering scenic viewing!  However, late this afternoon, we passed the wreck of the cargo ship Santa Leonor, which lies mostly submerged on the rocks near Isabel Island in the Smyth Channel.  She sank on March 31, 1968, and serves as a somber reminder that these waters can be treacherous.

I have uploaded (at last ... after several frustrating-beyond-belief attempts) this image straight out of the camera, because I cannot access any online photo editing programs.  I don't know why ... but I suspect the painful s-l-o-w-n-e-s-s of the internet has something to do with that.  Once again, I do apologize for not commenting on all your lovely photos, but it just takes an eternity to get anything done online here!

Tomorrow, we are off on a Big Adventure.  Stay tuned!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.