The other side of the tracks

I've been long fascinated by this row of cottages. They're between Sutton and Howth, separated by the DART line from the road they're visible from. I gave in my fascination this morning while out and about for an unusually early blipping session. I was feeling a bit guilty about last week's accumulation of un-posted blips, it was dry and bright outside, and I thought I might as well rouse myself.

I'm glad I did, even if there was a howling wind out and the temperature was only in mid single figures. After stopping for this, I reverted to laziness and drove up the road at the far end of Howth seafront to the car park where more active types begin their cliff walks. On the way I spotted an interesting-looking cottage at the roadside. It was shadows cast on the wall which caught my eye originally, but when I stopped and got closer I saw a plaque on the wall which identified it as a cottage with a history. The views across to Ireland's Eye and Lambay Island were spectacularly clear, but the biting wind was affecting my shutter finger and the wind was buffeting me around uncomfortably.

Back below, I walked most of the pier, taking in views of boats, both neglected and flaunted, and saying hello to this bird on a rail (which was the alternative candidate for today's blip). The wind with its biting edge was still howling, and it was no surprise to see many signs of the weather-beaten effects constant battering of this type can have on things. I must admit it was all having a bit of a beating effect on me too, so I headed back for the cozy car interior within an hour of getting to Howth.

The rest of the day was spent lazily, listening to music, feeding the beast, having a little nap. I had a ticket for a performance of Madame Butterfly in the Gaiety Theatre (the last night of Opera Ireland's Winter season), so I got myself in to town by 7.30 for the 8.00 pm start. It was a really fine production, far removed from the bad old days when productions by the DGOS (Dublin Grand Opera Society) tended to be generally cringe-inducing. This was on a par with many of the productions we've seen on our annual trips abroad with the Music Group, and to my mind more professionally staged than what we'd seen in Zürich in May. Well done, Opera Ireland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.