Strange evening sky

I see this extraordinary sky also caught tp's eye over in Bray.

This view was at 4.06 pm. My mate Derek had dropped in for coffee and chat and was just leaving. As I opened the door, we were greeted with this blaze in the sky, so I rushed upstairs to grab Derek's G7 (which he's loaned me while my G9 is with Canon) and dashed off a few shots as the display changed with amazing speed. It was exhilarating at first glance, but increasingly took on a disturbing aspect. Still, a spectacular display by good old Mother Nature -- all the more so since things had been damp and dull and dreary until well into the day, with heavy rain overnight. I had a bit of restless night after my hectic social weekend, and wasn't really up and about until until 2.00 or so (shame on me!).

It's been a lazy day since, but that all changes from tomorrow when material starts to come in for the next issue of the quarterly magazine which has a regular tendency to keep me busy with late- (or even all-) night work sessions. So I've made the most of what will probably be the last easy day for a while by sitting back and watching BBC2's excellent evening programming from 7.00 until 9.00 and then switching to some relaxing chamber music (Grieg string quartet playing as I write this).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.