Cold This Morning

First thing this morning our pond was obviously frozen over its entire surface, when I checked the temperature it was -3C; after all we do live in a frost hollow.  Today’s picture, taken at about 0800 hours is of the ice covering the whole of the surface of our overfull pond.  Because of this there was very little animal movement in the garden, but by 1500 hours, there were both birds and animals moving about.  I took a picture of one of these animals, a rabbit, eating the grass, which, little did he know, was his last meal; Florence caught him. 
 
I felt very sorry for the rabbit.  Last night I was sitting on our settee, with my MacBook by my side and with Florence sitting asleep at the back.  I went to move and at the same time Florence left up pushing my computer to the floor, I tried to grab it and she promptly bit right through my left first finger at the second joint; I heard and felt it scrape the bone.  I sorted this out and dressed it, before going to bed and today it is slightly swollen and a bit tender, but not apparently infected.  I therefore have a very good idea of what this little rabbit felt, when our animal caught him and then proceeded to eat him. His picture, when having his last meal, is put on as an extra.  I really do wish that our cats did not occasionally kill the local wildlife!

  
We do not have any problem with rabbits visiting our garden and eating grass etc., and they have never done any series damage to our plants, except when we had nearly two hundred visiting our garden, when the number had to be reduced. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.