Reed Buntings

Today we were going to go out, but it was much duller than Mrs GOG expected it be and I did not fancy it anyway.  So we spent a quiet day at home pottering and, so far, that is all I have done today. 

In the kitchen, we are very close to the bird feeders and tend to look at the birds through the windows.  The birds are either mostly there, or not there at all, anything that frightens one tends to frighten all of them, so that passers by or vehicles make them fly off.  On one occasion this morning, I saw what I thought was a vey pale Sparrow, Mrs GOG assured me that it was a female Reed Bunting and I decided to take its picture.  She said that if there was a female here, then there was probably a male, with a darker head, about and I should look our for him. He duly appeared and is posted here as my extra picture.  Having got started I took pictures of the various birds in the garden, each time I went into the kitchen; I saw ten different varieties of bird, but I only got pictures of eight of these, even then because they would not keep still some of my pictures were blurred.  Although there were eight varieties, I took pictures of males and females of most of the varieties, with their different markings. I got to thinking about things and I guess this site is quite good for bird pictures, as we have at least twenty or more different varieties that visit us.  I now wonder how many you would see in a single nature reserve?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.