Devon Lane

It's right on my doorstep, and I maintain
our local road's a lovely lane.
Always changing, yet ever the same,
hedgerows green or bare and plain.
Whatever the season, that's the reason
I freeze its image, in sun and rain,
an ever-repetitive sweet refrain.

© Celia Warren 2016

The rains continue, which combined with the wind-whipped tides, have broken through the coastal road nearby. It's sufficiently damaged to have been declared unsafe. The road is closed. So when we drove to Kingsbridge today, we took the top road, further inland. Glad it didn't collapse under me in the dark last night as I drove home from line dancing!

Attempting to live up to my journal's name, this is the tenth ditty that I've penned to accompany my respective blip pictures this month. Phew!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.