Aw, my legs!

The full sun for three days forecast was not really likely to happen and duly changed last night but I was still determined to make the most of Rich working from home and go out for a longer cycle ride. 

It wasn't huge mileage but decent for me, particularly in the cold. There was frost on the stone walls as I headed up from Askwith, and icy patches on the roads as I went from Blubberhouses to Greenhow Hill. 

By the time I got to the top, I was in the cloud but it wasn't until I headed down into the valley that my legs seemed to seize. I don't know if it was two days of cycling; perhaps trying to us different muscles; the fact I think I went a little faster; or simply the cold, but, by the time I was at Barden, I was rapidly trying to plot which would be the easiest way back. It was psychologically painful to make the choice. What if it was the wrong one? I concluded I was definitely in bother. I tried living in the moment but all I could think about was hot food and coffee. 

Well, I made it but stopped not once for a photo in 37 miles. My job for the afternoon was to meet a roofer to inspect an irksome leaking roof. Watching them made me feel physically sick as they headed onto the roof. The road is on a steep cobbled slope and they both seemed to wobble around uncomfortably. I'm not the best with heights but I didn't think I could get vicarious vertigo. I felt queasy all the way home.

I wasn't sure whether I'd fancy the drive after tea but I've missed my van adventures, having lucked out on any windows between the storms with work or jobs.

So here I am. 

In bed. Hoody on and up. Little dog all wrapped up and the owls are hooting. 

21:21 time for sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.