Leiflife

By Leiflife

Mysterious Communion, and Etcetera

Pearl does not make friends with everyone. She leans toward aloofness. Her superior air is obvious, as she skirts the periphery of human interaction. On a very wintry Wednesday, she came close to welcoming an early bird, Julia, to her human's bed. All three of us shared the comforter, and Julia's patient persistence and intuitive fingers won out. Much stroking and scratching and tickling was enjoyed by child and by cat.

The photo above was a couple of hours later when it was time for a walk with Music. But Music's exit, when he was finally coaxed out of the house, was blocked by mysterious goings on. This communion was very different from the earlier one, though no less intense. Poor Music... He stood in his old dog way, as I took my camera out, entranced by shadows...and equally by Pearl's entrancement. I have no idea what was going on, but I took the picture. This probably broke the spell, and Music was greatly relieved when the way was cleared.

On Thursday I had my injection while under the influence of twilight sleep. This means I suffered the indignities imposed without resistance. 
It also means that I could barely remember my kind brother, John, driving me home, and that for the next five hours I slept a profound and refreshing sleep. That means that the night's sleep was less refreshing, and today I feel woozy and dislocated though still without pain. So far...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.