Leiflife

By Leiflife

Dog Memorial Revisited

Last May I lost my little dog, Star, to cancer. She was a dear little dog...very affectionate...cocker spaniel with an interesting bit of beagle mixed in. A couple of months later I memorialized her on a bowl. I was working in the annex then and the bowl went into the Shearwater Showroom. When I was told that a woman who had recently lost her dog came in and purchased it, I was touched and felt that my little star was continuing her role of comforter. She was such a love-dog.

A few weeks back my cousin, Marjorie, called and gave me the sad news that the shelf which held the bowl had fallen, the bowl had shattered, and the woman was heartbroken. I agreed to try to decorate another bowl, though it couldn't possibly be the same. So... I have been spending time with my little Star again...attempting to bring back the angel dog that visits the grieving woman. I have re-entered the realm where, hopefully, art can work its magic to soothe the human heart.

Today, having finished the bowl's interior, I took it outside and photographed it in natural light. The bowl may change considerably in firing, so I thought to share.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.