Chaos and Calm

By KatKatzenjammer

300!!

Woohoo!! 300, very non-consecutive blips. Although I have been floating around blip for over a year now and am yet to reach the all important 365, sticking with something for this long is a big thing. I have comittment issues, it would seem. However, there is a certain charm about sharing my photography (and some less than fantastic phone photos) and day-to-day happenings on here. The people I have 'met' here are genuinely lovely individuals, and they bring laughter and warm, fuzzy moments. So, to those who have followed my madness, thank you for your feedback, thoughts, love and laughter.

On with the show.

It seems fitting that my 300th blip fell on what has been a good day in a very sad week. We're still coming to terms with the sudden passing of Kurtis' sister on the weekend, and all the funeral arrangements have now been finalised. But today was about my mother and I, and being happy about the babies growing inside me.

I've had a very disfunctional relationship with Mum for most of my life. I can count on two hands the amount of times I remember hearing the words "I love you", and the same for hugs from her. However, the last 20ish months have been good for us. Not necessarily mother-daughter in nature, but positive none the less. We put it down to the fact Kurtis has been a good influence on me, and has kept me a lot happier. I'm much easier to deal with, apparently. Hahah. ANYWAY. We spent this afternoon in a cosy chocolate lounge/cafe. Hours of her cooing over the ultrasound images of her new grandbabies-to-be, and dosing me up on hot chocolate and lemon meringue pie... And much laughter about cravings already setting in, and the fact that I'm craving olives, which she craved while pregnant with me. She wants Master Five Year Old and I to visit her in a few weeks for lunch - a day of playtime for my brothers and MFYO, and she insists on baking some olive challa bread for me... And brownies... And lemon slice... And God only knows what else. I'm half expecting a text message from her telling me she's getting out the knitting needles, and doing the typical nanna-to-be business.

To say she's elated by the pregnancy would be an understatement. Sure, she's laughing at the fact it's twins, but she knows we'll be able to handle it... And she actually said so. For 24 years, Mum was always quick to make sure I knew how much I was failing. Having her tell me I'm a great mum, and will cope just fine with the double trouble on the way was quite overwhelming for me. Add in the words "I'm proud of you", closely followed by "I love you". My eyes were a bit leaky.

Topping it off, she decided to miss the train she planned on catching home, just to spend more time with me. I even got a huge cuddle when she was about to get on the later train.

Bit emotional, but lovely.

Not sure how the photo ties in with the day, but I took it while waiting for her...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.