Bright and Beautiful

By ThingsBeautiful

Olympic Torch Relay!

Well, at quite a decent time of day, 11.58am the torch relay came through and the sun was shining, hooray :)

I was lucky that the running was starting just up the A4 from me by a local garage. I walked down the road to the A4 about 45 minutes beforehand and found an absolutely perfect spot to stand and lean against the railings on the crossing in the middle of the road (rather than trying to balance with walking stick and take pictures!)

Bit of a wobbly picture (and I've no idea who she is, but I think a local person rather than a celebrity)

Apparently Clare Balding was running through the town centre, but it was a bit far for me to walk to there, so I'm really glad I got the chance to see her on the Olympic bus going past :)

Some lovely things that happened as well. Children from the local primary school were across the road, and lorry drivers going past were tooting and waving at them, as were the police as they came along. Police motorcylists were driving one handed and holding the other out to touch children or adults as they went along! The children loved that I was taking pictures from across the road, and they were all waving and shouting at me quite early on. ( I might call the school and ask if they want the pictures though!!)

There was quite a motorcade of vehicles before the actual runner (and a gap inbetween too). It all added to the atmosphere of a great morning ! I got quite emotional :)

Down to earth now as I'm starting to prepare lunch before work this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.