A concrete love affair

By PhotoIain

Happy World Radio Day!

The UN have designated today World Radio Day. They are marking the mediums potential to pass information to vast numbers of people at once, especially during strife. 

For me I still love the medium of radio more than ever, almost ridiculously so, a near 24 year long love affair that began by tuning around to far-off FM-stations in my room as a child. Nowadays whether I'm at work, in the car or at home Ive got the radio on. Its something you can hear almost anywhere and that ubiquity does not diminish it in the slightest. Indeed it defines the mediums power to connect distant places and people, to bring a sense of community, to break important news, to be a companion for many many listeners at once. 

Of radio I love the history, the technology, the production, the formats, and indeed many of the characters who've graced our airwaves over the years. Most of all I love the serendipity of tuning in and still being surprised, enlightened or entertained; it makes memories and radio I thank so much for so many memories made over the years! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.