The Clocked Stopped at 1.13pm

Late this morning I went shopping for some things for Akaroa. First was Briscoes followed by the Palms Shopping Mall. I had just about finished shopping at the mall when the severe earthquake hit. I heard the boom and went to get cover the best I could. Luckily I managed to hold onto a young guy otherwise I may have fallen as it is was so severe. The glass above was making lots of noise like it was going to brake. Everyone was looking up at it.

Once it had stopped it was trying to make my way back up to the roof top as that was were my car was parked. There were a lot of very distressed people about not knowing what to do. The main trouble I had was getting out of the car-parking building onto the street. It took half a hour and some people were panicking which didn't help.

When I got home all was well here just a few things had fallen down and the poor cat was in hiding. He has come out of hiding now.

This shot was taken later in the day in Victoria Street at the clock tower. You can see what time the earthquake hit as the clock stopped then. We have had over 30 aftershocks so far. There was a biggish one not long ago when I was putting this blip up. We could be in for a shaky night.

Here is a link if you would like to know more on today's earthquake

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.