Today's Special

By Connections

Clear Communication

There was no mistaking Ms. Downy Woodpecker's message above to Mr. DW--"Back off! This is my feeder!"

He was suitably chastened, as is apparent in the extra. Interestingly, in some earlier photos I took, it was Mr. DW who had raised the feathers on top of his head and jerked his beak back and forth, and Ms. DW who looked away, defusing the tense scene. 

Too bad people can't solve their conflicts the same way.

We watched "The Theory of Everything" tonight, and I continue to be mesmerized by Eddie Redmayne's acting ability. Phil hasn't seen "The Danish Girl" yet, but once it's out on DVD, he will, and I look forward to seeing it again. And I've reserved a copy of Stephen Hawking's most recent book, My Brief History (2013), and Travelling to Infinity: My Life With Stephen (2014) by his former wife, Jane Hawking, at our library. So much to learn!

Speaking of books, I'm well into Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg (2015), an engaging book by Irin Carmon and Shana Knizhnik about the 83-year-old Supreme Court Justice, who took the oath of office in 1993. It seems particularly relevant today with the news that conservative Justice Antonin Scalia died to at age 79. I fervently hope that President Obama will appoint another woman to the Supreme Court before his tenure as President is over!

Blip 1480

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.