7.8 degrees

We returned from Antigua overnight to a welcome of sleet at Edinburgh airport. The indoor temperature back at our flat was 7.8 degrees :-(

My transatlantic travel/avoid jet-lag routine is to stay awake on the flight and refuse all food until breakfast, then eat at normal times and avoid the temptation of sleep at home until 'proper' bedtime comes around. So overnight I kept myself entertained watching films and television programmes on the plane, and then once back at the house I pottered about (and backblipped) until it was not unreasonable to have a bath and fall into bed.

On the plane Mr hazelh and I both watched Crimson Peak, a (supposed) Gothic horror film. I was ready to give up on it after about 15 minutes due to its set-piece silliness. However, Mr hazelh was keen to continue, so I stuck it out until the end. The plot was daft, predictable and unconvincing with anachronistic references, and odd depictions of British Victorian landscapes, etiquette and behaviour. It reminded me somewhat of The book collector, which I read (and disliked) on holiday last week. In its favour, I loved the Preraphaelite beauty of some of the scenes set in the crumbling mansion in the second part of the film, especially those that featured the two female leads (chasing one another along dark corridors Scooby Doo style, brandishing kitchen knives ready for the kill...) Our second film was much better. This was Legend, the recent biopic about the Kray twins.

I also watched an episode of Nurse Jackie (which I love) and caught the end of the documentary about Daft Punk (which I started on the outward flight). Then I noticed that Keeping up with the Kardashians was listed on the TV menu - oh dear, that was a mistake!

Exercise this week: I am amused to note that my average step count (and my only exercise when on holiday) was 1,517 steps a day. I dread to imagine my calorie intake. I need to get back to my usual routine on Monday...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.