Hello Ireland

Friday saw a rather stressed journey to Birmingham airport, some major traffic jams meant that I arrived at the airport a lot later than I had hoped to.

I Traveled with VLM (very nice) to Waterford, my first time ever to this part of Ireland on a tiny twin propeller plane.  The airport there is really small.

The weather was rather grim but I arrived in daylight (just) and asked to go for a little drive so I could see some of the coastline. Had a small walk to a pretty cove in Dunmore East and ended up settling in front of a very powerful coal fire in a Pub 'The Spinnaker Inn'. I had the most amazing fish pie. The coal fire was a bit too hot and I felt like I was melting and had to move my chair, my coat, my bag to places of safety! The Inn itself was really lovely, friendly and decorated in a way that meant there was always something quirky to see!

Arrived at Waterford Castle where I am staying for a few days later in the evening, absolutely shattered and in need of a couple of days of sleep and recovery after a very very busy time this last month. There is a small car ferry that takes you to the Island that the castle is situated on, it's quite sweet and named after Mary Fitzgerald who is a rather interesting socialite from the 1930s. The ferry man seems to know everyone and the place is super friendly. I'm writing this on Sunday having finally got enough energy to function again! (That could be down to the highly calorific Chester Cake I just ate!!!) Hopefully the grey, dull rainy weather will clear!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.