pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Battlefields Trip results

So far today has been pretty uneventful, but last night I had a communication from Henry who had wifi in the hotel. He seemed very happy with his day and send me a couple of photos - this being one of them. It is the final resting place of Private Donald John Ketteringham, Henry's great great uncle. He died on the Somme 27th July 1915 and is buried at the R E Farm cemetery, which was not on the planned itinerary. I am pretty impressed that Cromer Academy considered it important enough to amend their plans in order to fit it in. Donald John, known as John was a Norwich man, and also has his name engraved on a plaque in Norwich Cathedral. Sad to think of this young man, just 20 years old, dying for his country like so many. I can see his name on my family tree, together with his parents, and his siblings - one of which was my nanna, also born in Norwich and just 15 when her brother died. It is impossible to imagine how the families coped, but cope they did.

Now I've brought my family to live in Norfolk, I feel closer to this branch of my family history and so hope one day to visit this cemetery, and also to build on my knowledge of my Norfolk family. My nan was one of 10, some of whom stayed in Norfolk. So I probably have distant relations living on my doorstep!

Jon is due home soon and i'll cook a roast. Henry gets home very late tonight, but I wont catch up with him until tomorrow afternoon. Later tomorrow Mollie & I head down to Cambridge for a night out with Karen. So just one morning at work then 3 and a half days off! Can't wait....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.