Desideratum

Desideratum is such a wonderful word. It means something you desire or want. Today is a day representing love and finding what your heart desires for your beloved Valentine.

My thoughts were rather preoccupied by love of family and spending quality time together and anything to get in the way of that was merely an annoyance.

The inevitable jovial heartfelt messages came from a handful of my aviation and motoring pals but all in affectionate jest. Although I did receive a lovely invite to dinner and an airshow in the spring from one lovely flying pal, which was very nice.

My brother and bro-in-law gave me a card saying 'You're my Favourite' which was rather sweet but as predicted no red roses or gestures of true romance arrived from my heart's desire.

Walking through Brighton Marina this afternoon I spotted this mermaid statue. I always wanted to be a mermaid growing up. Mermaids are goddesses of the sea representing freedom, mystical powers and such beauty that captured the hearts of sailors to their peril.

Funny how this marina is where I first met a skipper friend of mine way back almost 20 years ago. He's been in touch recently and invited me out to Europe for an escape. Maybe I should eschew all responsibilities and go in search of sunshine and maybe some romance?...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.