An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Submission Received!!!

Backblipped 11.07.12

At last it is done!!!

I was determined I wasn't going to bed until the damn thing was finished! I HAD to get it out of the way as next week all my time will be taken with getting organised for going on holiday PLUS the deadline for submission is alarmingly close!

What a relief to get it done even though I didn't get to bed till 3.15am! Looking at the forums tells me I wasn't alone!

It's a shame that I didn't enjoy the course more but I put that down mainly to the fact we were moving house and have had a terrible, virtually non-existant broadband connection. Also the weather hasn't exactly been great for getting out and about taking photographs.

I have learned loads though and I look forward to going back over the entire course at my own speed (we have access to the course for years) and taking things in properly and hopefully finally understanding the things that went over my head.

Two visitors to the house today....Rob from Ireland was back to finish setting up the electronic home controls. We can now turn lights on /off, work TV's, listen to music all from our iphone and ipad! We can also listen to Alan when he's in his room and see him on iphone and ipad so we can make sure he's ok without keeping disturbing him!

All this has been done as part of the effort to let Alan be as independent as he can be as he grows up. He'll be able to chose his own tv channels, what music he listens to and put his bedroom lights on. And this brings me to our second visitor.....Mark who came to see us way back in MARCH and he brought Alan's eye gaze computer with him! At last we have it! Fully personalised to Alan and between them, Mark and Rob also got it configured to the home control network so (eventually) Alan will be able to do all of these things using his eye gaze pc! It really is state of the art stuff!

Alan was so excited to have his eye gaze PC and the work will now begin to get him using it functionally. We have to take things slowly and not overwhelm him but OMG, I think it's going to be life-changing for him! :-))))

Between that and my very late night (well early morning!) I have been exhausted the whole day.

Never mind, this time next week we'll be in France. Here's hoping it's sunny!!!

PS And how could I forget....Rob has fixed our Broadband! It is now constant and available thoughout the house! YAY! I no longer feel cut off from the world!! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.