Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Busy day

Another glorious day. Laura came to take Archie out for a walk about 10.30, and so I was able to get on with sawing and chopping the rest of the kindling. I think that will be my last chopping session. I'm just not fit for it any more. And I used to chop all our firewood in NZ with my trusty wee chainsaw.

We were able to sit out in the sunshine and have a coffee. Archie had his no-bark collar on, which hasn't been used for a while, but he eventually remembered the rule - just look at people going by and say nothing. Noisy toddlers passing by elicited a few harrumphs from him, but they don't register on the device, he's realised.

JR is feeling a lot better today, though she had a coughing fit in the morning and hurt her back bending over in the shower (what a pair of old crocks we are!). She was up and about and off to the shops to pick up a bargain she'd ordered online. That got her up and out!

I went swimming! And it was lovely. Not busy at all - in fact at the end, I had a lane all to myself. So I did an extra 10 minutes. I have an unwritten rule that I cannot get out if I am the only person left in the lane - it's such a treat - and I waited for ages but nobody came and I eventually got too cold. And too stuffed.

Laura was not happy with Archie today. He kept chewing sticks, and as she's had her own puppy choke on a stick, she was really anxious. It is a problem and we have been thinking of a solution to discourage this habit...

In the afternoon, we dropped Archie off at Bailey's house, and J took him up the Hill, along with her two grand daughters. What a super afternoon they all had. We went to the pet shop shop for a browse, and spent more than intended, as usual. We got one of those extendable leads - for use in the Meadows for the foreseeable future... Archie, are you listening?

PS Archie isn't looking at the camera because J's phone hasn't got the shutter sound on, so how would he know?

PPS We're off on an Archie-less jaunt tomorrow. He doesn't know it yet...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.