Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Crail!

When I went out with Archie this morning I was pleasantly surprised - the stiff wind had gone, the sun was shining, with blue skies as far as the eye could see!

I must say, it's makes a nice change to be able to take Archie out round a wee tinkling harbour in the mornings. Though when the tide is out, the boats are all away down in the mud. Not so picturesque.

As planned, JR and Archie set off on the Coastal Trail to Crail. Apart from it being about four miles, I'd read that there were a few stone stiles to get over, so there was no way I could manage it. Though I was very jealous - what a day for a seaside walk. The sea was blindingly bright and calm, it was a gilet and sunglasses day, so JR had to carry her woolly hat, scarf, gloves and coat most of the way.

Archie had a brilliant time, with lots of adventures - apart from the amazing rock formations, he found a dead seal, a dead sheep, and a long dead skeleton of something. He seemed to be rather horrified at each find, but had to go and have a good look, ignoring not hearing JR's cries of 'Archie Come!'

I got the bus, which took 14 minutes. Then I found a seat in the sun in the tiny wee harbour, read the Metro, watched the comings and goings and awaited the walkers' arrival. They took two hours, but eventually I saw them coming round the corner of the cliff. JR took a photo of the first sight of the village, and if you look hard enough, you can see me sitting on the bench in front of the red stone house on the harbour.

When they arrived we went for a cuppa and a scone, with a bonus sea view! Then back on the bus, ice cream in the sunshine at Anstruther.

What a grand day out and about in the East Neuk!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.