Bumble bee......

.......sipping sweet nectar from salvia 'La Siesta'.
 
It's interesting to note the calyx is the cup-like structure which holds the flower and ovary connected to the floral stem.  Instead of flying into the opening of the flower the bee balances on the flower while sipping the nectar between the calyx and flower. It's something I've learned with introducing 'La Siesta' to my garden and it fascinates me to see a fat bumble trying to balance on the dainty flowers while edging its proboscis (tongue) between the calyx and flower.
 
Not a pretty image today but more informative, the bee a little soft in places but the most important part is beautifully in focus. I've added as an extra, an image of the flower without the bee, it was a blip in April last year.

It's another calm and warm day, 31C, plenty of bees in my 'bee and butterfly' garden.

Happy Tuesday everyone :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.