The diver

An early flight to Wellington this morning; not quite as early as when I was doing the locum in Wellington last year. Nevertheless, I managed to get to the airport too late to have a coffee before the flight, and the plane coffee is ... Well, airplane coffee. Got to the Council offices with enough time to get a nice long black from a nearby cafe.

All day meeting which was not as difficult as some meetings have been. General consensus and good decisions. After the meeting I went for a walk along the waterfront. Some dragon boat crews training; secondary school kids by the look. 

Walked past where a couple of young women were jumping into the water from a large beam extending over the water from the waterfront promenade. On my way back this young man was initially squatting looking out at the harbour, and then adopted this position. He looked like he was about to do a reverse dive. 

He saw me with the camera and smiled appreciatively. A minute later he stood up, walked over to the beam, along it and then dived into the water. A beautiful relaxed dive. Which I was not in the right position to capture.

And anyway, I liked this shot of him rather better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.