a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Daughter of the Guadalquivir

Cordoba Day 3: The Roman Bridge and the Mezquita
 
The Romans founded Cordoba (the Daughter of the Guadalquivir) in the 2nd Century BC, building the bridge over the River Guadalquivir as part of the Via Augusta.  The Moors reconstructed the old Roman bridge, and although it is called the Roman Bridge to this day, there is not much original Roman construction to be seen.  It is however a wonderful bit of architecture and beautifully lit in the dark.  Today’s blip is a second shot of the bridge (I took one as an extra on Sunday night), but taken first thing this morning from a different position, while I waited for sunrise with the tripod.
 
Sadly there was not much of a sunrise today, so my original plan of blipping the sun coming up over Cordoba went by the wayside.  The sky was however, beautifully clear, and the temperature only about 1C as a result, so, cold for this part of the world.  After my wait for sunrise I called back in on the Mezquita, which is free between 8:30 and 9:30am (although I had to drop off the tripod at the hotel first, as they don’t allow you to take them into the Mezquita).
 
My phone thinks I’ve walked about 18km today, so far, and my feet suspect that it might be right.  The old Jewish Quarter in Cordoba is a wonderful maze of little alleys that it is all too easy to get lost in.  I think we wandered up and down one particular street 6 times today as we looked for particular bars/restaurants/ice cream shops that we had our hearts set on visiting, that we vaguely remembered walking past before ...
 
My extra is of the Posada del Potro.  This old inn is now the home of the Flamenco Museum and well worth a visit.  It is also mentioned in Don Quixote where Cervantes described it as a thieves den.  Needless to say, it has come up in the world since then.
 

The hotel’s WiFi continues to frustrate, so I’m getting no real opportunity to keep up with what is happening on Blip.  I’m going to have to have a monster of a catch up session when I get back at the end of the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.