Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Wales v Scotland - The Friendly Game

It was off to Cardiff today for my first Six Nations international in quite a few years.  The nerves started building early in the morning.

Slight panic as there was chaos at Neath train station, which meant I was late getting into Cardiff than planned.

Met up with all my old colleagues out in Canton for a few pints and then a splendid Chinese banquet at the Happy Gathering.  It was always the place we used for entertaining clients, but now it’s just to meet good friends.

And then the game!  I’d forgotten how emotional it is listening to the national anthem at a full Millennium Stadium, it sends shivers up your spine and I have to fight back the tears.  Wales scored a try within the first 10 minutes and things were looking good, but Scotland fought their way back and by half time had taken the lead.  They were disrupting us in the scrum and deserved the lead, it didn’t help me much as I was sat by my old boss who is a Scot and then a group from Edinburgh.  We had a good craic though, I think the Scotland match is probably the friendliest Six Nations we have, and no matter of the result us Celts always enjoy the day.

The second half began and Wales were still struggling.  Then suddenly from nowhere we scored three tries and were in charge, Scotland scored late on but they had left it too late.

I stayed down Cardiff for the night then, and met my friends Anne and Richard.  Cardiff was bouncing especially the first club we went to.  Then some glorious Italian food, and a few drinks in the hotel bar, along with plenty of rugby songs with our fellow Celts.

A brilliant day!

BACK BLIPS:

Friday - Good Friday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.