Emergency Blip

Head down today at work trying to get lots of things done, and very office bound, so no time for any pics. This is a frantic last effort, my latest CD .......

Watching the end of Winterwatch on TV the week before last, special guest Martin Simpson played a track ("Dark Swift and Bright Swallow") from his latest CD (fantastic photograph of a starling murmuration on the cover). So I ordered it, together with Tord Gustaverson's latest (I like a bit of cool Norwegian jazz).

I've only seen Martin Simpson once, which was in 1981 - at Nellie's folk club (the White Horse Inn), in Beverley where I lived at the time . He played the Guy Clark song, "Like a Desperado Waiting for a Train",  fantastic guitar playing, and I bought his latest LP the following week on the back of hearing him.

So 35 years later the man from Scunthorpe is still going strong. And it's an excellent album.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.