The Dawn of my Last day in Napier

I woke this morning to a rosy glow in my bedroom and looking out the window, saw an amazing sunrise. My daughter lives on a hillside and from my second floor room I have a view over the suburb of Taradale. I was really happy to get a pic as it was my last day here and most of it was taken up in travel. The blip is straight out of the camera.

I flew home into the teeth of a terrible storm. The normal 35 minute  flight from Wellington to Nelson today took two hours. Several times the plane tried to land at Nelson airport and would have to hastily raise the landing gear and gun the engines to spend more time circling. The Pilot announced a final attempt and if that failed we would have to return to Wellington. We made it down but it was not a nice experience - it felt like we would slam into the ground as we got close. With gale winds and teeming rain, I was soaked by the time I got into the Terminal.

Blip Mate  collected me for the 45 minute drive from the airport to home. This also took us much longer than usual  with sheets of wind and rain reducing the visibility to almost zero. A tree was down across the road in one place and traffic was stopped while it was cleared.

It was so good to eventually get home. Poor Blipmate - with the waiting and the terrible driving conditions it must have been a tough day for her too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.