Away!

Dear Diary,

I decided that yesterday I would sit by the back door and watch my chickadees carefully.  I wanted to try to make a photograph that expressed them in a new way.  I've take hundreds of images of these sweet little birds and I just wanted to do something completely different.

It took more than an hour and trying different settings to finally get something I really liked.  Not perfect by any means but expressive of their  quickness and agility.  I liked the little perch in focus.  It seems to give more movement to the bird.  But it is the wings, with the light just right, that is my favorite part of the image.  (I've included my second favorite image as well as an extra.)

It felt good to switch into a more artistic mode for a change...to push the photographic envelop just a bit.  The softness and color really appealed to me.  It's like trying to photograph the wind!  A real challenge but when you get it, even partially, it is very rewarding.


I’ve veered away from the abstract image recently and it was great getting back to it.  This sort of image would have been unthinkable for me 10 years ago but my pond series open my eyes to the abstract possibilities around me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.