Flashback Friday - St John, 2012

Dear Diary,

You will understand why I might like to escape all this snow, if only in my mind.  I watch a PBS show on Thursday nights called Death in Paradise that takes place on the fictitious island of St Marie in the Caribbean.  It is a wonderful series of murder mysteries with a tropical feel.  That is just what I need right now, toes in the warm sand!

This photograph was taken at Cruz Bay on St John.  I had gone to visit my dear friend Karen who operates an adorable B&B on the island.  I saw this "lady in the sand" and thought, how enchanting!  St John is an enchanting place and I wouldn't mind being there right now.

It also reminded me of the weekend Karen spent with me here one winter and we woke up to find ourselves completely snowed in.  We could barely get the door open and our car was buried.  We had to get out to return to Massachusetts so we started shoveling but the plows had built a bank at the end of the driveway.  I joked, "We need an angel to help us!"  Not five minutes later a man with a plow on his truck stopped and asked if we needed help.  Prayer answered!  He wouldn't even take any money for it.  Only in Maine...

Coincidence is God's way of remaining anonymous. - Albert Einstein

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.