Camara de Lobos

I decided to spend this sunny day heading for Camara de Lobos, the fishing village which Churchill loved to visit and to paint.

I walked down, past the famous view from so many watercolours, and today I didn't just stay in the tourist part, I headed along the seafront up as far as the quaint little square.

There was a service going on in the church and I sneaked in the back. A group of children were in front of the altar, with their teachers, being snapped by many photographers. They were reading out prayers, sometimes struggling with the microphones, but clearly having a marvellous time. When I went for my bica (espresso) and my pastel de nata, I asked what was going on. The girls didn't speak any English (well, it wasn't Funchal) and I couldn't understand all of it. I've enough to Google shortly, but it's something to do with Maria and a pilgrimage. One of the girls was selling commemorative scarves. I'm curious -and so privileged to have shared in this.

Meeting some blippers later - I'm looking forward to it.

Forecast for the next couple of days isn't as good - so it may be museum (or shops) time.



Edit : there are celebrations this week and next because the image from Fatima is in Madeira. The local newspaper has carried photos of the parades as the image is raised aloft in the streets. (The Virgin Mary appeared in Fatima in 1948, to some children.) I've been to Fatima - and it is a very holy place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.